2016 Dave Simpson Trophy Winner - Garry Watson 08 Feb 17

Article Image



This trophy is perhaps the most sought after and the event at which it is competed for is usually the most popular of the year. It was initiated in memory of David Simpson who was one of three people, instrumental back in 1984, in setting up this championship – we did not know back then that we would have the success we undoubtedly have today.

The trophy this year was as usual awarded to the driver who won their class by the greatest time margin. This year it was quite close between the eventual winner and Clive Dix, with only a matter of seconds to split them. It was determined slightly differently this year as the differences in average speeds was used. This gives the same result but gets rid of issues such as lapped cars - much easier to determine who has actually won.

The winner was originally given the trophy during the season at the August Oulton Park meeting. It is re-awarded tonight, together with a replica. Unfortunately Margaret Simpson, who usually makes this presentation can’t be with us tonight as she is down at the MSA awards event receiving her well-earned volunteering award.

The winner was :

Garry Watson

Garry can be seen above collecting his trophy from John Leck.