Paul Rose, Paul Woolfitt & Team Cryer take top awards at the Real Night Out 28 Jan 19

Article Image

The CNC Heads Championship celebrated its 35th season at the Best Western Park Hall Hotel on Saturday 26th January.

The event was attended by most of the award winners from the 2018 season with Paul Rose receiving the overall award from long time sponsor Ric Wood who owns CNC Heads. As well as Paul the other class winners, Luke Armiger, Dave Harvey (3rd overall), Garry Wardle, Jamie Cryer (2nd overall) and Clive Dix were present to receive their trophies. In addition to the class awards 22 drivers received an award for starting in at least ten rounds in 2018.

Following these awards Paul Rose was re-presented with the prestigious Dave Simpson Memorial Trophy and a replica by Dave's widow and our hard working Chief Marshal Margaret Simpson.

Another re-presentation was that of the Cam Forbes Trophy, given each year to the driver who makes up the most ground between qualifying and race at one of the Anglesey rounds. Unfortunately Dawn Forbes was unable to attend this year, however, Dorothy Cryer was on hand to make the presentation with replica to Dave Chilton who was collecting the trophy for his son Alastair who was in China on business.

Two awards were announced on the night, the David Gledhill Driver of the Year and the Spirit of the Championship awards. Unfortunately the recipient of the Driver of the Year award could not be present as he was taking his son karting over the weekend. However, John Leck, said that when he had told the recipient he was over joyed with the award and was thrilled to have won. The recipient is Paul Woolfitt. The trophy will be presented at the first meeting Paul attends this season.

The Spirit of the Championship went again to a team this year. In recognition of their support and help over more than 15 seasons the trophy was awarded to Team Cryer. This was presented to Kevin, Jamie and their long suffering 'better halves' by Competitions Administrator, David Wheadon, who was our guest for the night from BARC HQ.

Several drivers were presented with 'long service awards' for competing in excess of 100 or 50 rounds in the Championship. David Wheadon presented an award for 100 rounds to Paul Dobson and to Luke Armiger, Danny Bird, Steve Harris, Graeme Laslett, Paul Rose and Oliver Thomas. John Leck announced that it was quite likely that during this season we would have our first driver reach 200 starts.