CNC Heads Championship Returns to Trac Mon 18 Sep 19

Article Image

Sports/Saloon Car Championship – Anglesey preview

It’s back to Anglesey this weekend for the CNC Heads Sports/Saloon Car Championship, for another triple header and the penultimate meeting of the year for the BARC North West Series.

Current Championship leader Robert Burkinshaw leads the entry with his Class E Honda Integra, while a second Integra in the hands of Chris Maries is second in the class and currently sixth in the Championship. But so far Burkinshaw remains unbeaten in the best supported class of the Championship. Jamie Cryer’s Ginetta G20 almost took the overall title last year, but 2019 hasn’t been his best for reliability, which leaves him fourth in class behind Steven Parker’s BMW Compact. Both will be disappointed if they are not on or near the podium this weekend.

If it’s wet then Nicholas Bartlett’s BMW M3 will be near the sharp end too, while having taken his first podium at Anglesey earlier in the year, Ian Bruce will be looking for more in his Honda Civic Type R. The legendary Les Kirk is also due out in his Civic Type R, while Rob Phillips and Angus Eddowes are both in Renault Clio’s. As well as Cryer, Tony Harman and Neal O’Leary have entered their Ginetta G20’s, while Connor Modro is the sole Ford Focus this weekend, as Graeme Laslett’s Lotus Elise and Peter Koukoulas’ Toyota MR2 complete the class entry.

The overall victory will more than likely come from Class B or C. David Harvey’s Stuart Taylor Locosaki is currently second overall in the Championship and has a 10 point class lead over Danny Bird’s Spire GT3, while Graeme Smith completes the class C runners, returning to his Caterham after racing the ex Brian/Helen Allen Fiesta at Donington Park.

But having won at Donington in a race of attrition, Luke Armiger’s Vauxhall Tigra should be challenging again, but after missing a number of races this year, he is only third in class B behind Paul Dobson’s Locost Mazda and Andy Southcott’s Modsport MG. As well as heading the class Dobson is currently third overall too. Completing their class are Tim Foxlow’s Escort RSR having made a late seasonal debut and Mark De Spong who brought his Ginetta G20 to the Championship for the first time at Donington. There are only three entries in class A which could be reduced if James Aukland’s Capri engine isn’t ready in time. Duncan Aukland is due out in his “Proton Pultra” and Stephen Keenan with his MK Indy RR.

Garry Wardle is entered in his Mini Cooper S JCW but might turn up with his Porsche GT3. He has been the only regular in class D this year, as Oliver Thomas’ Subaru Impreza has undergone a development year, Ian Burrows’ Toyota Celica GT has been absent since early season and Ralph Underwood’s TR7 V8 has struggled to get out too. But they are joined this weekend by debutant Mike Budd with his Celica Turbo.

At present David Bird’s Honda Civic is going solo in class F, he leads the class comfortably already in the championship and is fifth overall behind Brother Danny.

Qualifying is at 11.59 on Saturday morning for 20 minutes with the first race following at 15.44 for 20 minutes plus one lap. The second and third races are both on Sunday at 10.09 and 15.43 respectively.