Championship Finale on Saturday at Oulton 21 Oct 19

Article Image

Sports/Saloon Car Championship – Oulton Park Preview

It’s time once again to decide this year’s Champion as the CNC Heads Sports Saloons gather at Oulton Park for their final races of the season, with a massive 38 car line-up.

All the front runners have entered, with a raft of points available from the double header with double points too from the final race.

Rob Burkinshaw’s Honda Integra continues to lead the Championship and class E, currently holding a 28 point lead over Anglesey treble winner Danny Bird’s Spire. Paul Dobson’s Locost Mazda is a further four points back in third, with Dave Harvey’s Stuart Taylor Locosaki four further points back in fifth.

There are three entries in Class A but Jon Woolfitt’s Mk Indy should sew up the class, as he currently holds a two point deficit over James Aukland, who isn’t entered for Oulton. Championship sponsor Ric wood is back with his 5 litre Holden Commodore, along with Graham Saul’s Porsche 928 GTS complete the class line-up.

Dobson heads class B by 34 points, but with second placed Andrew Southcott not entered, he is unbeatable. But on the day he has plenty of rivals, notably Luke Armiger’s Vauxhall Tigra, an overall winner at Donington, plus Paul Woolfitt’s Lotus Exige and recent returnees Roddie Paterson and Tim Foxlow, in their respective Caterham C400 and Ford Escort RSR.

Although Danny Bird leads class C there are only eight points in it, but second placed Harvey is yet to play his joker. It will be a close race between the duo as usual, while Richard Jessop’s Mini Miglia and Graeme Smith’s Caterham join them.

Class D is led by Gary Wardle, who debuted a new Mini Coper JCW at Anglesey. His class title is virtually assured, but he will have his hands full to take the class win in the races, as despite only debuting his BMW M3 at Anglesey, Allan Davies will be vying for a class win too. They will hopefully be joined by Oliver Thomas’ Subaru Impreza, sidelined at Anglesey during testing. Ian Burrows hopes to be out in Toyota Celica, along with Ralph Underwood’s TR7 V8, Bob Claxton’s Renault 21 Turbo and Mike Budd’s Toyota MR2 Turbo.

Class E is once again the best supported with 14 entries, led by Burkinshaw. Chris Maries is currently second in class with his Integra, while there are more Honda’s for Ian Bruce and Ben Griffiths, both in Civic Type R’s.

Jamie Cryer heads the usual trio of Ginetta G20’s, with Neal O’Leary and Tony Harman and there’s Angus Eddowes in his Renault Clio.

Connor Modro’s Ford Focus, Graeme Laslett’s Lotus Elise, Steven Parker’s BMW Compact and Peter Koukoulas’ Toyota MR2 will also be out again, but due to be joined by debutant Don Hughes in his Peugeot 306 XSi.

David Bird should be crowned class F Champion and is currently fifth overall. He has more competition however this weekend, with Guy Carter’s Honda CRX, Alan Easton’s Peugeot 106 and both Barry Long and Colin Flynn in Mini’s. Brian Allen completes the line-up in his Fiesta.

Qualifying is at 9.35am and the races are at 12.00 and 15.35, both for 20 minutes plus 1 lap.