CNC Heads take to the track this Saturday for opening round of the season 15 Apr 21

Article Image

CNC Heads Sports/Saloon Car Championship 2021 Oulton Park 17th April preview


Defending Champion Jamie Cryer heads the 35 car line-up for this weekend’s opening round of the CNC Heads Sports & Saloons Car Championship at Oulton Park. Cryer’s Ginetta G20 is one of eight entries in Class E. He is joined by the Honda Civic Type R’s of Championship legend Chris Maries, Ian Bruce and former Renault Clio driver Rob Phillips. Connor Modro will be back out in his Ford Focus too, along with fellow returnees Steven Parker and Peter Koukoulas and their respective BMW Compact and Toyota MR2. Paul Rotheroe also returns with his Citroen Xsara after a couple seasons out and debutant Jake Johnson completes the class with his Ford Fiesta.

Class A has a bigger entry than at any time last season, with 10 due to start. The trio of Saker’s are led by 2019 Champion Paul Rose, joined by Steve Harris and David Clark. Other potential overall winners are Andrew Southcott and Paul Woolfitt. Southcott has previous wins under his belt with his super quick MG Midget, while Woolfitt’s Radical based Lotus Exige had a win at Oulton two weeks in the Northern Saloons & Sports. Having raced his Honda CRX over the last couple of seasons, Guy Carter is due back out with his TVR Tuscan, while local man Piers Grange is out with his Ford Escort RSR Mk1. Having debuted his Ginetta G50 at Cadwell last season, Andy Bicknell is back for more, as is John Seery, who has sidelined his Vauxhall Astra and will be returning with his 5 litre Westfield.

Multiple former Champion Paul Dobson will probably have made more modifications to his quickening Locost 7, as he heads the Class B entry. Once again he is up against Jon Woolfitt, Paul’s brother, who changed to a Spire GTR last season, after successfully racing an MK. Jon was also a NSSCC winner at Oulton two weeks ago. Completing the class are ex short oval expert Tim Foxlow with his Ford Escort RSR, along with long time championship supporter Patrick Smyth in his Lotus Elan.

There are only three starters in Class C, with Danny Bird’s race winning Spire GTR, up against Bruce Carter’s MG Midget and Gary Warburton’s Mini Miglia.

Class D is well supported however and probably the most varied. Garry Wardle is entered in his ex Carrera Cup Porsche 991 GT3, but it’s anyone’s guess what he will arrive with. Allan Davies is back with his BMW M3 after some strong performances last season, while Oliver Thomas’ Subaru Impreza will hopefully finding success from the various mods from last year. Andrew Smith’s VW Beetle had a mixture of strong results and mechanical gremlins last year, but is a class contender, while Class F Champion Clive Dix is back with his new Mazda RX7. Championship sponsor Ric Wood is in his Nissan Skyline, and David Jones is back with Ford Focus. Riccy Walker starts his second season of racing with his Mini R56 JCW, while Mike Anderson is a debutant in a VW Scirocco R. Championship stalwarts Ralph Underwood and Bob Claxton are out again too with their TR7 V8 and VW Golf GTi.

Sadly Class F is down to two, as Graeme Smith’s Mazda MX5 only has Colin Flynn’s BMW Mini Cooper to play with.

The race is at 15.15 for the usual 20 minutes plus one lap, after morning qualifying for 20 minutes at 11.10.

Published by Peter Scherer for BARC North West, April 14th 2021