Ian Ashcroft and Graeme Black jointly awarded The Phillips Trophy 28 Feb 24

Article Image

BARC North Western Centre’s marshals and officials annual awards and trophies were presented by BARC NW Chair Ian Buckley at the extremely well-attended BMMC NW marshals training weekend at Oulton Park in February.

The Phillips Trophy, named after a former committee member, was jointly awarded to Ian Ashcroft and Graeme Black. The trophy is awarded to the Marshal of the Year. Ian and Graeme were the first marshals on scene at a serious Caterham incident in the early part of the 2023 season. Their actions undoubtedly led to a positive outcome for both of the drivers involved, doing exactly what was required ahead of medical and Rescue teams arriving on scene.

Ian Ashcroft and Graeme Black

Previous recipients of note include former BARC NW chairman Ray Sumner in 1982, Richard Fraser in 1984, Rescue Chief Colin Whitter in 1987, and was last year awarded to the BARC NW Rescue crew.

Photographs courtesy of Shirley Woodall and Philip Rainford of PS Images Facebook | Instagram