Drivers and Marshals receive their Awards at the Real Night Out 29 Jan 18

Article Image

Over 150 guests attended the Real Night Out at the Park Hall Hotel in Charnock Richard. This annual event is where the drivers receive the Championship awards from the last season. Whilst most of the awards are known there are some special awards presented on the Night. The Centre was please to welcome Richard Peacock and his wife Ceri from Anglesey together with Andrew Crighton and Annette Freeman also from that circuit. In addition Nadine Lewis, chair of the BMMC was a welcome guest. Unfortunately David Wheadon from BARC (HQ) was unable to attend due to illness at the last minute.

Joe Spencer picked up the Overall Championship award from our sponsor Ric Wood of CNC Heads (his support being welcomed for 2018 for the eleventh successive season). His nearest rivals, Iain Gorrie and Paul Rose taking the other podium positions. Other class winners were Luke Armiger, Oliver Thomas and Piers Grange.

All drivers who had competed at least 10 championship rounds were each presented with a trophy for that achievement, 32 this year - an all time record. With regard to loyalty, several drivers received trophies for amassing 100 and 50 rounds. James Aukland having competed 100 and he received an award and some money to take Anne away for a weekend somewhere (away from a circuit!). Helen Allen and Richard Roundell received awards for competing in 50 rounds.

The winners of the special awards this year were :

Driver of the Year - Paul Rose

Spirit of the Championship - Team Armiger

Dave Simpson Memorial Trophy - Dave Harvey

Cam Forbes Trophy - Nicholas Bartlett

Jock Sinclair Newcomer Trophy - To be announced later in season as driver was not present.