CNC Heads Title to be decided this Saturday 11 Oct 23

Article Image


With this weekends CNC Heads Sports Saloons finale rapidly approaching, one thing for certain that a new Champion will be crowned.

Ian Bamber’s Ginetta G20 currently has a 12 point lead, but had hoped it would be more. He played his joker at Anglesey, but made a rare non finish. Roddie Paterson’s Caterham currently lies second, with both Steven Parker’s BMW Compact and Bod Buckby’s Caterham in contention too.

The Saker’s are missing this weekend, so Class A and overall looks like Andrew Southcott’s MG Midget Lenham should be out in front. But he has Simon Allaway’s Lotus Esprit V8 to contend with too.

Garry Wardle is back with his Seat Cupra TCR, after missing Anglesey, while Tom McFarlane, is out again in the JWB Scirocco, having made his race debut at Anglesey. James Aukland’s Capri is due to return for the first time this season, to complete Class A.

Paterson’s main challenger in a well-supported Class B will be Arron Armiger’s Vauxhall Tigra. Paterson is still seeking his first overall win of the year, with Armiger having won on the first visit of the year to Anglesey. Former Champion Jamie Cryer will be seeking another podium with his Ginetta G20, while after missing Anglesey, Tim Foxlow’s Escort RSR and Connor Modro’s Ginetta G40 are both due out again., while Connor’s brother Alex is entered in a Fiesta ST150. Thomas Frankland’s Renault 5GT Turbo, David Green’s Honda Civic and the Caterham’s of Richard Hall and Thom Evans complete the class.

The usual Class C duel between Buckby and Connor Harvey is joined by John Curry Caterham 310R, for the first time since the Cadwell Park opener.

Class D leaders Ric Walker’s JCW Mini and David Jones’ Ford Focus will be looking to seal their Class title, but Ric Wood’s Nissan Skyline will be hard to beat. Hopefully Oliver Thomas’ Subaru Impreza is fit and well though too after it’s pre-race drama’s at Anglesey.

Paul Goodlad is back in a second JWB Scirocco and Marshall Groves is another returnee, with his Vauxhall Vectra. Clive Dix probably hasn’t stopped smiling since his successful Anglesey trip and Class wins in the Mazda RX7, so he will be looking for podiums too. Andrew Smith’s VW Beetle and Bob Claxton’s Golf complete the class, while Ralph Underwood’s TR7 V8 will hopefully be there too.

Joining Bamber and Parker in the battle for the Class E podiums are Cavan Taylor’s Clio after debuting at Anglesey, plus Matthew Jones’ Ford Focus and Daren Scholes’ VW Golf, while in Class F it’s a straight duel between Helen Allen’s Fiesta and Brian’s Puma

Outgoing Champion Jon Woolfitt is also entered in his Spire GTR, but hasn’t appeared so far this season.

Qualifying is on Saturday morning at 9.55 to 10.15, with race one at 12.30 and race two at 15.55, both over 20 minutes, with double points for race two.